Drone Advisory Committee announced by FAA

By UAS Magazine Staff | October 24, 2016

Issuing the small unmanned aircraft systems rule wasn’t the only major moment of the year for the U.S. Federal Aviation Administration. In September, less than a month after releasing Part 107, the FAA announced the members of the first-of-its-kind Drone Advisory Committee. Roughly 400 organizations expressed interest in becoming part of the DAC, a group the FAA hopes can create a safe and effective regulatory framework for the UAS industry.

The group is led by Brian Krzanich, CEO of Intel. “Drones will be one of the great computing platforms of the future,” he said. “I look forward to promoting innovation in drone technology that will improve people’s lives while spurring economic growth.”

The FAA said its members represent a wide array of stakeholders, including UAS manufacturers, operators, manned aviation groups, labor organizations, radio and navigation equipment manufacturers, airport operators and state and local officials.

Three times a year, the committee will meet to discuss key issues and challenges in the national airspace. Subcommittees that form from the main group will help the FAA prioritize its activities, including the development of future regulations and policies. In total, the DAC consists of 34 members.


Drone Advisory Committee members include:
Chair: Brian Krzanich, Intel Corp.
Greg Agvent, CNN
Deborah Ale Flint, Los Angeles World Airports
Juan Alonso, Stanford University
Mark Baker, Aircraft Owners and Pilots Association
Jaz Banga, Airspace Technologies
Linden Blue, General Atomics Aeronautical Systems
Robert Boyd, Riley County, Kansas
Tim Canoll, Air Line Pilots Association
Nancy Egan, 3D Robotics
Trish Gilbert, National Air Traffic Controllers Association
Martin Gomez-Vesclir, Facebook
Todd Graetz, BNSF Railway
David Green, Wisconsin Department of Transportation,   
Bureau of Aeronautics
Ryan Hartman, Insitu
Robert Isom, American Airlines
Gur Kimchi, Amazon Prime Air
Ed Lee, San Francisco, California
Nancy Leveson, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Dave Mathewson, Academy of Model Aeronautics
Nan Mattai, Rockwell Collins
Houston Mills, UPS
Marily Mora, Reno-Tahoe Airport Authority
Christopher Penrose, AT&T
Steven Rush, Professional Helicopter Pilots Association
Lillian Ryals, The MITRE Corporation
Robie Samanta Roy,  Lockheed Martin
Paola Santana, Matternet
Ed Sayadian, Harris Corporation
Brendan Schulman, DJI Technology
Phil Straub, Garmin International
Dave Vos, Google X
Brian Wynne, Association for Unmanned Vehicle Systems International
Robert Young, PrecisionHawk
Matthew Zuccaro, Helicopter Association International